Book Connections is a companion to Teaching Books with a collection of 174,000+ digital materials about books for children and teens. Book Connections includes a reader's advisory tool, resources for homework help and homeschool support, summer reading and diverse book selections, and more.
Professional & Adult access
- Go to BookConnections.org/login
- Enter your work email, click 'Sign In,' and follow the prompts***
***Note: this access also works for TeachingBooks.
Access for Readers under 18
- Go to BookConnections.org
- Click 'Sign In' and enter your library card and state
Britannica Escolar is the leading knowledge-building resource that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish.
Britannica Escolar es el principal recurso de desarrollo de conocimiento en el que se confía universalmente para contenido preciso y apropiado para la edad en español.
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.
Coursera offers more than 3,800 cutting-edge courses, all taught by top instructors from over 200 leading universities and companies like Yale, University of Michigan and Google. Users can sign up for Coursera access through September 14, 2023.
Click here to register for Coursera access. After registering, Coursera can be accessed directly at coursera.org.
Coursera has been made available to all public libraries in California via funding from the State of California, administered by the California State Library.
Practice California driving tests are now available through the Buena Park Library District. Here you will find a variety of driving permit tests available!
A version of the Explora database with resources for elementary school children. Designed for elementary school students, students can look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects, or homework from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.
A version of the Explora database with resources for grades 9-12. Designed for high school students, students can look up articles and facts for research papers, class projects, or homework from the world’s leading magazines and reference books. Replaces Student Research Center High School.
A version of the Explora database with resources for grades 6-8. Explora for Middle School gives students their first real experience with the power of an online research database. In addition to magazine and journal articles, newspaper articles, and reference book articles, Explora includes primary source documents and media broadcast transcripts.
Explora for Public Libraries is EBSCO’s interface designed for public library patrons. Users can browse topics of interest or search for a topic of their choice. A simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents.
Gale eBooks features encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
HelpNow provides live online homework help from an expert tutor; gives help in understanding a concept from class; foreign language homework help; allows you to take practice tests; lets you submit your writing to a writing lab and receive expert assistance; and have live adult learning center sessions from trained instructors.
Live tutors are available Mon - Sun 1:00PM — 10:00PM PST
National Geographic Kids is part of the National Geographic Virtual Library, which brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine - every page of every issue - along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos.
NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. NewsBank also offers online educational resources covering all academic curricula. Aligned with state standards and targeting all subject areas, NewsBank’s school-focused solutions include primary sources and inquiry-based projects that support learning, enhance research and help develop critical thinking skills.
NoveList K-8 Plus is a database of book recommendations geared specifically for younger readers. NoveList K-8 Plus helps kids find books that are just right for their reading level and interests, including picture books, children's "chapter" books, and younger teen titles.
Looking for the perfect book? Whether you need to find the next book in a series or find an author who is a lot like your favorite author, NoveList Plus has got you covered! Find author read-alikes, book discussion guides, and "Grab and Go" book lists to help you find that just right book quickly and easily.
Prepare for standardized tests with Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test Prep. This valuable resource includes full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. It offers information on undergraduate and graduate programs and tuition and scholarship assistance, as well as a resume builder and interviewing advice. Whether you’re a student planning for college or a professional embarking on a new career path, Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test Prep can help you along the way.
Primary Audience: High School Students and Everyday patrons; Undergraduate Students
Secondary Audience: Military Veterans; Post-Graduate students; adults seeking U.S. citizenship; cosmetology students; Parents; Teachers
Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.
Culturegrams™ (grades K-12) is an online resource of reports on 209 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. Reports contain information on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people, as well as audio, video, images, maps, infographics, and classroom exercises. The content is written at a range of reading levels to support a variety of users.
eLibrary (grades 6-12) delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support middle and high school students, college-prep and college-level researchers, and professional educators. Educators can search for resources that correlate to state and national standards, including Common Core State Standards. Researchers will find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcript titles, plus a collection of over 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files
ProQuest Research Companion (grades 8-12) is an intuitive, and self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills instruction occurring in today's libraries, classrooms, and online learning environments. It provides a new foundation and companion to "one-shot" sessions, allowing librarians and educators to focus on teaching the more complex research and writing principles.
SIRS Discoverer (grades 3-9) is a general reference database providing safe, reliable, curriculum-aligned content and features for use by students and educators in Primary and early Secondary schools. All content is hand selected and indexed from over 2,100+ reliable high-quality sources. High interest, relevant non-fiction newspaper and magazine articles, as well as graphs, tables and political cartoons are all easily accessible through easy-to-follow search and browse options
SIRS Issues Researcher (grades 6-12) delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues with relevant, credible information that tells the whole story on the major questions of the day. Go in depth into any one of 345+ critical, current, and enduring social issues. Analyses and opinions hand selected from thousands of national and international sources such as newspaper & magazine articles, videos, charts, maps, statistics, primary sources and government documents.
TeachingBooks is a database of resources for children's and young adult books and their authors and illustrators. Use TeachingBooks to search titles, authors and illustrators, and find resources to engage readers. The resource collection includes short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, and more.
Sign in to TeachingBooks by entering the following username and password:
Tuition Funding Sources helps students find scholarships, college and career information. TFS offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information.